Thursday, October 24, 2013

Marriage is about love

When I began writing this blog a few years ago, same-sex marriages were only legally permitted in five countries and on US state (Massachusetts).  A lot has happened since then!  A LOT!

Same-sex marriage is legally recognized nationwide in Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden and Uruguay.  Gay marriages can be performed in parts of the United States now besides Massachusetts. Right now, 38% of the US population – issue marriage licenses for same-sex couples.

Fourteen states (California, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington), allow same-sex marriage, plus the District of Columbia, eight counties in New Mexico and eight Native American tribal jurisdictions.  It is expected that Hawaii will be added to that list very soon.

With all that good news, it is important to note that so much of the world and so much of this country still discriminates.  Marriage is about love, not gender and it needs to become available to ALL who wish to marry!

No comments:

Post a Comment